International      

US goes to polls today

03 Nov 2020 13:32, Somoy English Desk
US goes to polls today
US goes to polls today

The US votes today (Tuesday) to decide its next president after one of the most chaotic campaigns in history amid social and political unrest across the country.

Tuesday's vote comes amid the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The US has recorded more cases and more deaths than any other country worldwide, reporting more than 81,000 new infections on Sunday alone.

Top virus expert Anthony Fauci has sharply criticised the Trump administration's handling of the pandemic, drawing a rebuke from the White House on Sunday.

As the US grapples with the economic and health crisis of the coronavirus pandemic and the looming threat of climate change, voters are choosing between two candidates to steer one of the world's major powers through an increasingly uncertain future.

US President Donald Trump, voted in four years ago as the 45th US president, is the candidate for the Republican Party, also known as the Grand Old Party (GOP), reports the international media.

Former Vice President Joe Biden, who served as the 47th US vice president alongside President Barack Obama from 2009 to 2017, is the nominee for the Democratic Party.

The 2020 US presidential election is held on Tuesday, November 3. The first polls close at 7pm local time on the east coast, which is 11am AEDT on Wednesday, November 4. All polls will close by 9pm EST on November 3, which is 1pm AEDT on Wednesday, November 4.

National polls suggest a firm lead for Mr Biden in Tuesday's election.

But his lead is narrower in the handful of states that could decide the result.

More than 98 million people have already cast their ballots in early voting, putting the country on course for its highest turnout in a century.

Share:      

All News of International

View more

Popular News

Watch Live TV

Somoy TV Live SOMOY YOUTUBE SOMOY YOUTUBE
DOWNLOAD MOBILE APP