21 eminent personalities receive Ekushey Padak

20 Feb 2021 13:24, Somoy English Desk
21 eminent personalities receive Ekushey Padak
21 eminent personalities receive Ekushey Padak

Twenty-one eminent personalities received the Ekushey Padak on Saturday in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina distributed the awards virtually. 

The awards were handed over at the recipients at a ceremony held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium. 

The prime minister joined the programme virtually from her official residence Ganobhaban.
On behalf of the prime minister, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque handed over the awards. 

Motahar Hossain Talukdar (posthumous), Shamsul Haque (posthumous) and Advocate Afsar Uddin Ahmed (posthumous) received the second highest civilian award for their roles in the Language Movement.

Begum Papia Sarowar got it for her contributions to music while Raisul Islam Asad and Salma Begum Sujata for performing art, Ahmed Iqbal Haidar for drama, Syed Salahuddin Zaki for film.

Dr Bhaskar Bandopandhay was given the award for his contributions to recitation while Pavel Rahman for photography and Golam Hasnayen, Fazlur Rahman Khan Faruk, Syeda Issabela (posthumous) for their contribution to the Liberation War. 

Ajay Dasgupta was picked for his contributions to journalism while Prof Dr Samir Kumar Saha for research, Mahfuza Khanam for education, Dr Mirza Abdul Jalil for economics and Prof Kazi Kamruzzaman for social service.

Kazi Rozy, Bulbul Chowdhury and Golam Murshid were recognised for their contributions to language and literature.


All News of National

View more

Popular News

Watch Live TV