Federation Cup: Champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd in Group A

13 Dec 2019 13:27, Somoy English Desk
Federation Cup: Champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd in Group A
Federation Cup: Champions Dhaka Abahani Ltd in Group A

Defending champions Dhaka Abahani Limited were put in Group A with Arambagh Krira Sangha and Champions of Bangladesh Championship League (BCL) Bangladesh Police Football Club in the 31st TVS Federation Cup Football 2019-20.

The tournament will begin December 16 at the Bangabandhu National Stadium here, reports UNB.

Thirteen clubs from Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) – split into four groups – are going to participate in the season’s curtain raiser soccer meet.

Runners-up of the Federation Cup 2018 and BPL Champions Bashundhara Kings have been placed in Group B alongwith Chattogram Abahani Limited and Brother Union Football Club. Saif Sporting Club were put in Group C alongwith Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited and Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society.

The four-team Group C comprises Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Limited, Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra, Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and BCL Runners-up Uttar Baridhara Sporting Club.

The fixture is yet to be announced.  The teams will play in the group stage on round robin league basis.

Two teams from each group will play quarterfinals on December 26 and 27. The semifinals will be held on January 1 and 2 while the final will be held on January 4, all at the same venue. 

The draw and logo unveiling ceremony of the meet were held at the Bangladesh Football Federation House in Motijheel on Friday.

BFF Senior Vice-President Abdus Salam Murshedy, General Secretary Md Abu Nayeem Shohag, Executive Committee members Abdur Rahim, Zakir Hossain Chowdhury, Fazlur Rahman Babul, Bangladesh Police FC Team manager and Additional IGP Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan and participating team’s representatives were present on the occasion.

BFF General Secretary Md Abu Nayeem Shohag disclosed the details of the meet.

“We haven’t confirmed the date and time yet. We will announce those on Saturday,” Shohag said.

Murshedy, also chairman of the Professional Football League Committee, said, “I hope the teams will play their best football in the meet. The champions will be rewarded Tk 5 lakh while runners-up will get Tk 3 lakh. Each team will get Tk 1 lakh as participation money. Besides, we have included fair play award this year.”

He said the tournament organising committee has included some new rules and regulations for the clubs, players and coaching staffs. “We don’t want any uneventful occurrence in the field. I hope the clubs will follow the rules,” Murshedy added. 

Bangladesh Police FC Team manager and Additional IGP Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan said he hoped the players, coaching staffs and supporters will control their excitement to maintain a positive environment in the stadium.

Federation Cup is the country’s premier knockout football competition. The champions of the meet earn a spot in the AFC Cup qualifying round.


All News of Sports

View more

Popular News

Watch Live TV